Child Protection and Safeguarding

The welfare of the child is paramount.

At Hackbridge Primary School the safety and welfare of our children is of the utmost importance.

Because of the day-to-day contact with children, our staff are well placed to observe the outward signs of abuse. All adults working in the school must protect children from harm and abuse, including Child Sexual Exploitation (CSE), Female Genital Mutilation (FGM) and Radicalisation/Extremism (Prevent Duty), Children Missing Education (CME) and be aware that any pupil may be at risk of harm or abuse.

We have a duty to safeguard and promote the welfare of our pupils under the Education Act 2011 and Children Act 1989 through identifying any child welfare concerns and taking action to address them in partnership with families and other agencies where appropriate.

All staff at Hackbridge Primary School have enhanced DBS status and a number are first aid trained. All new staff are recruited under our "Safer Recruitment" policy and procedures.

Please click here to view our Safeguarding Policy.


Hackbridge Primary School's Designated Lead for Child Protection and Safeguarding (DLS) is:

Mrs Sylvia Parker, Deputy Headteacher


DLS Deputies:

Mrs Emma Walford – Headteacher

Miss Natalie Robins – Deputy Headteacher / SENCo / Inclusion Manager / Designated Teacher for LAC & Post LAC

Mr Andrew Jasper – Assistant Headteacher

Miss Kerry O'Doherty – Assistant Headteacher


The school's Safeguarding Governor is:

Mrs Angela Baughan


Deputy Safeguarding Governor:

Mrs Carole Cook


Please click here to view Safeguarding Links